Gartner’s Trends 2021 Infrastructure & Operations

This year, Gartner, IDC and others are once again providing us with the IT Trends 2021. We took a closer look at the Top 6 Trends in Infrastructure & Operations published by Gartner Inc. on December 7. We quickly got to grips with completely different, yet essential questions:

  • Can we even speak of trends in current times? 
  • Don’t trends presuppose a stable structure of business as well as organizational and financial possibilities for change? 

 

As long as economic stability is not fully restored, managers and employees lack security, confidence and motivation. It will take some time before top management has positive key figures and sees its own profit targets in the clear. Only then will there be a green light and money again for projects, investments, staff expansion, innovation, etc. Until then, EBITDA, cost cuts, investment backlogs and staff reductions will dominate.

Conclusion: IT trends have basic economic requirements that must be met. Anyone looking for proof of this thesis is welcome to amuse themselves with a Google Search of the predicted IT trends for 2020…

 

 

Gartner’s Trends 2021 – Infrastructure & Operations:
  1. Anywhere operations

    The I&O team must be able to ensure the agreed internal service quality (SLA) AND provide the departments with the necessary infrastructure (clients, accessories, DaaS, Microsoft 365, etc.). The “New Way of Working” also requires professional support for the users by means of Adoption & Change Management.

  2. Optimal infrastructure

    The range of IaaS such as Azure or PaaS solutions such as SAP Cloud Platform is increasing rapidly. The requirements are also shifting in the direction of integration and operation. Projects have to be argued with a ROI more than ever. Not necessarily a home game for IT managers. We at ITSDONE see this trend weakening in 2021.

  3. Operational continuity

    The requirement for service availability and DR solutions is not new. However, automation is increasingly coming to the fore here. Infrastructure as Code (IaC), as we are already successfully using with some large enterprise customers, is a growing trend.

    GitLab as a management solution and Terraform for provisioning are just some of the tools required for this. One of the most exciting topics in a long time. Quick wins with easy to calculate ROI bills are to be looked for in automation at the applicator level e.g. with UiPath. ITSDONE already has the relevant project experience and certifications.

  4. Core modernization

    It remains to be seen to what extent the Austrian AWS investment premium will bring about a modernization of the core infrastructure. In our view, the formal requirements for a capitalizable investment are massively contrary to cloud services, as they ideally form the technical basis of trend #1 to #6. In contrast to Gartner Inc., we rather see a postponement of investments and thus an extension of the current useful life, provided that manufacturer maintenance is ensured.

  5. Distributed cloud

    We have been following the trend described by Gartner of placing workloads in cloud infrastructures for several years and this is one of the core services of ITSDONE. Based on our experience from several projects, we know that creating a landing zone, building the network and security framework, complying with governance and “saasifying” applications requires both internal and external resources.

    With the DC Region Austria East, Microsoft has made a very smart move. In the enterprise and large enterprise sector, the conclusion of the Enterprise Agreements are decisive for the speed and scope of the migration. The Austrian SME market has the opportunity to get its own infrastructures out of its own responsibility once and for all and combine them with Microsoft 365. It remains to be seen whether an economically hard-hit SME market will make trend-setting decisions in 2021. In the medium term, this segment will benefit the most from Microsoft’s best-in-suite approach.

  6. Critical skills vs. critical roles

    With the introduction of cloud solutions and services, the organizational orientation of IT staff is also changing. Technical areas such as Windows, network, backup, etc. merge. With the “Saasification” as well as with the introduction of Microsoft Teams, process competence is required as well as the ability to proactively accompany the users in their “New Way of Working” (Adoption & Change Management). 2021 is probably the perfect year for a realignment of the IT organization.

 

In summary, ITSDONE’s core areas of MWP, automation and SAP are reflected in the trends cited by Gartner Inc. although the era for IT trends is certainly starting to run late.

 

Source: 7.12.2020, https://www.gartner.com/smarterwithgartner/gartner-top-6-trends-impacting-infrastructure-operations-in-2021/?utm_campaign=EVT_GB_2020_IOCS_C_NL8&utm_medium=email&utm_source=Eloqua&cm_mmc=Eloqua-_-Email-_-LM_EVT_GB_2020_IOCS_C_NL8-_-0000

 

21 Dec
Gartner’s Trends 2021 Infrastructure & Operations

Gartner’s Trends 2021 Infrastructure & Operations

Auch dieses Jahr versorgen uns Gartner, IDC und Co. mit den IT Trends 2021. Wir haben uns die von Gartner Inc. am 7. Dezember veröffentlichten Top 6 Trends im Bereich Infrastructure & Operations mal genauer angesehen. Rasch haben wir uns mit ganz anderen, jedoch essentiellen Fragen beschäftigt:

  • Kann man in aktuellen Zeiten überhaupt von Trends sprechen? 
  • Setzen Trends nicht eine stabile Struktur des Wirtschaftens, wie auch organisatorische und finanzielle Möglichkeiten für Veränderung voraus? 

 

Solange die wirtschaftliche Stabilität nicht wieder vollständig gegeben ist, fehlt es Führungskräften und Mitarbeitern an Sicherheit, Vertrauen und Motivation. Bis dem Top Management positive Kennzahlen vorliegen und sie ihre eigenen Profitziele in trockenen Tüchern sehen wird es einige Zeit dauern. Erst danach gibt es wieder grünes Licht und Spielgeld für Projekte, Investitionen, Personalaufbau, Innovation usw. Bis dahin dominieren EBITDA, Kostenkürzungen, Investitionsrückstau und Personalabbau.

Conclusio: IT-Trends haben wirtschaftliche Grundvoraussetzungen, die erfüllt sein müssen. Wer nach Beweisen für diese These sucht, kann sich gerne mit einem Google Search über die vorausgesagten IT-Trends für 2020 amüsieren…

 

 

Gartner’s Trends 2021 – Infrastructure & Operations:
  1. Anywhere operations

    Das I&O Team muss in der Lage sein die vereinbarte interne Servicequalität (SLA) sicherzustellen UND die Fachbereiche mit der notwendigen Infrastruktur (Clients, Zubehör, DaaS, Microsoft 365 usw.) versorgen. „New Way of Working“ erfordert zusätzlich eine professionelle Begleitung der User mittels Adoption & Change Management.

  2. Optimal infrastructure

    Das Angebot an IaaS wie z.B. Azure oder PaaS Lösungen z.B. SAP Cloud Platform steigt rasant. Auch verschieben sich die Anforderungen in Richtung Integration & Betrieb. Projekte müssen mehr denn je mit einem ROI argumentiert werden. Nicht unbedingt ein Heimspiel für IT Manager. Diesen Trend sehen wir als ITSDONE in 2021 abgeschwächt.

  3. Operational continuity

    Die Anforderung an Serviceverfügbarkeit und DR Lösungen ist nicht neu. Allerdings drängt sich hier Automatisierung immer mehr in den Vordergrund. Infrastructure as Code (IaC), wie wir es bereits bei einigen Large Enterprise Kunden erfolgreich einsetzen ist Kultursprung.

    GitLab als Verwaltungslösung und Terraform zur Provisionierung sind nur einige der Tools, die hierfür erforderlich sind. Eines der spannendsten Themen seit langer Zeit. Quick Wins mit einfach zu rechnenden ROI Rechnungen sind in der Automatisierung auf applikatorischer Ebene z.B. mit UiPath zu suchen. ITSDONE verfügt bereits über entsprechende Projekterfahrung und Zertifizierungen.

  4. Core modernization

    Inwieweit die österreichische Investitionsprämie des AWS eine Modernisierung der Core Infrastruktur bewirkt bleibt abzuwarten. Die formellen Anforderungen an eine aktivierbare Investition sind aus unserer Sicht massiv gegenläufig zu Cloud Services, wie sie idealerweise die technische Grundlage von Trend #1 bis #6 bilden. Im Gegensatz zu Gartner Inc. sehen wir eher eine zeitliche Verschiebung von Investments und somit Verlängerung der aktuellen Nutzungsdauer, sofern die Hersteller Wartung sichergestellt ist.

  5. Distributed cloud

    Den von Gartner beschriebenen Trend, Workloads in Cloud Infrastrukturen zu legen, verfolgen wir bereits seit einigen Jahren und gehört zu den Core Services der ITSDONE. Gerade mit der Erfahrung aus einigen Projekten wissen wir, dass eine Landing Zone zu erstellen, den netzwerk- und sicherheitstechnischen Rahmen zu bilden, Governance einzuhalten und Applikationen zu „saasifizieren“ sowohl interne wie auch externe Ressourcen in Anspruch nimmt.

    Mit der DC Region Austria East hat Microsoft einen sehr klugen Schachzug getätigt. Im Enterprise und Large Enterprise Bereich sind die Abschlüsse der Enterprise Agreements maßgeblich für die Geschwindigkeit und den Umfang der Migration. Der österreichische KMU Markt hat die Möglichkeit seine eigenen Infrastrukturen ein für alle Mal aus der eigene Verantwortung zu bekommen und mit Microsoft 365 zu kombinieren. Ob ein wirtschaftlich hart getroffener Mittelstandsmarkt richtungsweisende Entscheidungen in 2021 trifft bleibt abzuwarten. Mittelfristig profitiert dieses Segment am Meisten vom Best in Suite Ansatz der Microsoft.

  6. Critical skills vs. critical roles

    Mit der Einführung von Cloud Lösungen und -Services ändert sich auch die organisatorische Ausrichtung der IT Mitarbeiter. Technische Gliederungsbereiche wie z.B. Windows, Netzwerk, Backup usw. verschmelzen. Mit der „Saasifizierung“ wie auch bei einer Einführung von Microsoft Teams ist Prozesskompetenz erforderlich wie auch die Fähigkeit die User in deren „New Way of Working“ proaktiv zu begleiten (Adoption & Change Management). Für eine Neuausrichtung der IT Organisation ist 2021 wohl das perfekte Jahr.

 

Zusammengefasst spiegeln sich die Kernbereiche der ITSDONE mit MWP, Automation und SAP in den von Gartner Inc. angeführten Trends wieder, wenngleich die Zeitrechnung für IT-Trends mit Sicherheit verspätet zu laufen beginnt.

 

Quelle: 7.12.2020, https://www.gartner.com/smarterwithgartner/gartner-top-6-trends-impacting-infrastructure-operations-in-2021/?utm_campaign=EVT_GB_2020_IOCS_C_NL8&utm_medium=email&utm_source=Eloqua&cm_mmc=Eloqua-_-Email-_-LM_EVT_GB_2020_IOCS_C_NL8-_-0000

 

21 Dez
Gartner’s Trends 2021 Infrastructure & Operations

zurück